Buses

I was jolted awake from my peaceful slumber by the blaring of the bus’s horn and a sudden swerving. I managed to look up fast enough to see our bus slowly overtaking a semi. I need to stress slowly. That was the reason for the horn. The reason for the swerving was that only a few hundred meters away there was another semi…this one was coming straight for us in the opposite lane (the highway between the two cities is only a two lane road). I kind of chuckled and went back to sleep.

Repeat that more times than you can count within a four hour span and you will have a small grasp of what the bus trip from Sihaunkville to Phnom Penh is like. To sum it all up? I freaking LOVE Cambodia. Hands down, no questions.

There was a moment, or at least it felt like a moment, however I can’t say for sure how long it was…that I stared out the window and into the passing countryside. I realized that I was in a whole different world. Farther away from everything I know and yet…its strangely the same. People are really the same everywhere…they have the same troubles, the same feelings, the same emotions, the same thoughts.

I will write about my night in Phnom Penh soon…I am sitting in the Taipei airport about to board for my flight to LA. While you are waiting, you can watch this amazing video of the Buena Vista Social Club:

Leave a Reply

